top of page

Believing in Mercy

By Andrea M


Sometimes we feel so bad, we want to hide under a rock. We withdraw from people who remind us of what we don’t like about ourselves. We hibernate. We sink into the shadows.


Why do we believe we can hide from God? Is there anywhere on this Earth that is outside of his reach? I love Psalm 139 for the articulation of this very human desire to hide.

7 Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence?

8 If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there.

9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea;

10 Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.

11 If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me.

12 Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee.

Yet, even if we don’t hide, we might refuse mercy. We might rationalize that we are worthless and undeserving. It is Psalm 136 that counters any and all of our arguments. After you read it, tell me your problem is big enough to bar you from God’s mercy. In fact, write a verse listing your concerns and add the phrase, “for his mercy endureth forever” to the end of it. Write a whole autobiography detailing your mistakes and failings and end it with “for his mercy endureth forever.”


We are limitless beings in a world with limits and boundaries. We came into this world a divine being of light. That divinity didn’t go anywhere just because you fell down. Believe in your worth. Don’t be ashamed to say, “I messed up.” Own it, and move forward. The end has not been written. You still get to choose how you want your story to end. Maybe it should end, “for his mercy endureth forever.” Just a thought.

bottom of page